Hoteliers: Are We Ok?

I have worked in hotels all my life but sometimes I wonder, when I say, I’m passionate about the industry, are people laughing internally?

Think about it. What kind of an idiot would be passionate about a job that makes you:

Work over-time

Work over-time and not get paid for the over-time

Work double shift with no break to rest your damn legs because Susan decided that she has the ‘flu’ and can’t come to work today

Smile outside when in reality every night you cry yourself to sleep

Come to work on your day off because ‘we are low on man-power’

Make you be late for all your special appointments, whether it’s at the dentist or someone’s place

I mean, seriously, what is there to be passionate about?

I DON’T KNOW.

But it might have to be something inexplainable, something non-tangible.

The feeling you get when you hear a guest say that you have made their day..

The time you meet a regional general manager who tells you he was a dishwasher when he started and you think to yourself, if he can do it, I can do it too..

And of course, QAR 100 you get when you get a nice-ass comment on Trip Advisor that you know you’re going to be spending on dat bottle of rum to ‘celebrate’…

Image result for happy sigh

It’s these little things that keep us going.

Your thoughts?