Living In Doha

Doha. A city that I would call home one day. How did this happen?

“A person who longs to leave the place where he lives is an unhappy person.”- Milan Kundera.

This was me, back home. I can remember being eight or nine years old and wanting to leave my home country. I don’t really know what went on through my naïve mind at that time to want to leave, but this feeling stayed throughout teenage until adulthood. And then one day, I found myself in Doha.

Wouldn’t I rather live in Paris, sit in their beautiful cafes, have black coffee and resort to people watching? Bien sur, mais Doha will forever have my heart.

Honestly, sometimes, I’m such a sap. Cue crying music.

But the truth is, life always gives you lemons and the only thing you can do is make lemonade out of it. You could squeeze them in people’s eyes but I can’t really recommend that. But the point is to make the most of every experience.

My life in Doha has been far from perfect (see above use of a relatively neutral word ”experience”). But living in one of the safest countries in the world, with events that are free or next to, construction everywhere, and the terrible Careem drivers, I have somehow found a place to call home.

If you’re new here, please don’t think I’m a sappy grandma. For I am quite the opposite, with a tendency to utter sarcastic phrases at the most inappropriate moments.

We all have our talents, don’t we?

One thought on “Living In Doha

Your thoughts?